Board of Directors

There are six directors of the APESB, five of whom are drawn from across the three professional accounting bodies.  The sixth director is the chairman. The APESB constitution requires the chairman to be an independent person who is not a member of one of the professional accounting bodies. 


The Hon Nicola Roxon (Chairman)

Ms Nicola Roxon was appointed Chairman of APESB in June 2014. Nicola became Australia's first female Attorney-General in 2011. Nicola Roxon was first elected to the federal seat of Gellibrand in 1998, she was a senior cabinet minister and held the complex portfolio of Minister for Health and Ageing for four years. Nicola holds a BA/LLB (first class honours) from Melbourne University and is a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Since 2014 Nicola has developed her career as a non-executive director and currently serves in this capacity on the Board of BUPA ANZ, Dexus Funds Management Ltd, and Lifestyle Communities Ltd. Nicola is the Chairman of Cancer Council Australia and she is an Adjunct Professor within the College of Law and Justice at Victoria University and is a well-known public speaker nationally and internationally.
Date of Appointment: 01 June 2014


Mr Kevin Osborn

Mr Kevin Osborn is Chairman of VUCA Pty Ltd, Beerenberg Farm Advisory Board, Chairman of Fisher Graham Limited and Deputy Chairman of Port Adelaide Football Club. Kevin is a Director of Pateka Pty Ltd which consults to Australian and International clients, and he is a Director of Nut Producers Australia Pty Ltd. Kevin is a Fellow of the Institute of Public Accountants and a member of the Aboriginal Basketball Academy. Kevin is a Foundation Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and he was formerly the Deputy Chairman of Bendigo and Adelaide Bank and a non-executive Director of Calgary based Viterra Inc. Prior to his career as a non-executive Director, Kevin had a 25 year career in international financial markets where he held various global senior management positions with the USA's then 4th largest Banking Corporation, Bank One, which is now part of J P Morgan Chase.
Date of Appointment: 18 March 2013


Mr John Cahill

Mr. John Cahill is a past President/Chairman, a Fellow and life member of CPA Australia Ltd, a Graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a member of the Australian Institute of Management. John is a Councillor at Edith Cowan University. John's past roles include being Chief Executive Officer of Alinta Infrastructure Holdings, Chief Financial Officer of Alinta Ltd, a non-executive Director of Emeco Holdings Ltd, Toro Energy Ltd; and other senior management roles in treasury, finance, accounting and risk management, predominantly in the energy industry.
Date of Appointment: 01 February 2014


Mr Craig Farrow

Mr Craig Farrow is the Chairman and a Partner of Brentnalls SA and is a past President of the Institute of Chartered Accountants Australia (ICAA). Craig played a pivotal role in ICAA's historic merger with the New Zealand Institute of Chartered Accountants as the Executive Chair of the merger project that lead to the creation of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand. Craig is the Deputy Chairman and a non-executive Director of Vocus Communications Ltd, Australian Independent Rural Retailers, Tonkin Consulting Engineers and Scientists, AMPS Agribusiness, Doctor's Health SA and General Practice SA. He is also a non-executive Director of Petrosys Pty Ltd and Centre State Exports Group. Craig is a Fellow of both the Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand and the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management (AIM). He is also a certified practicing manager and holds a Diploma of Financial Services.
Date of Appointment: 10 February 2015


Ms Penny Egan

Ms Penny Egan is the Chief Executive Officer of Cancer Council Tasmania and a Life Member of CPA Australia. She currently sits on the Compliance Advisory Panel of the International Federation of Accountants. Her previous positions include Board Director and President of CPA Australia, Director of Softwood Tasmania and Director of Newood Holdings Pty Ltd. Penny has worked in senior management roles across a number of Tasmanian government organisations including as Chief Financial Officer with the Department of Health and Human Services and Forestry Tasmania. Penny is a Fellow of CPA Australia and a Graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.
Date of Appointment: 21 April 2016


Ms Claire Mackay

Ms Claire Mackay is a Principal and Head of Advice at Quantum Financial, a leading independent financial planning firm. Previously Claire worked in structured tax at PwC and Macquarie Bank. Claire is a member of ASIC's External Advisory Panel, ATO's Superannuation Industry Relationship Network, SMSF Committee at Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand and the Professional Standards and Conduct Committee at the Financial Planning Association. Claire is an Adjunct Lecturer in Applied Finance and Corporate Finance at Macquarie University. Previously Claire was an industry nominated Panel Adjudicator for the Financial Ombudsman Service. Claire holds Bachelor of Commerce and Bachelor of Laws from Macquarie and Masters of Law from Sydney. Claire is admitted to the NSW Supreme Court, Chartered Accountant (SMSF and Financial Planning Specialist), Certified Financial Planner, Chartered Tax Advisor and graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.
Date of Appointment: 01 July 2016